Seventeen Panther Tales

1-17 Panther tales: Penny pinching, scouting hits and misses that built Penrith

NRL.com | Dan Walsh | 29 September 2021

Penrith have been picking the eyes out of more than 8000 juniors either side of the Blue Mountains for several years now.

Where once they couldn’t keep, let alone buy back their best local talent, now the Panthers’ strike-rate is matched by the stories behind each signature.

Once a landscaper by trade, former Penrith hooker Jim Jones has been scouring the western Sydney savannah for talent for more three decades now as the club’s recruitment officer.

Few spin a yarn better than Jones.

From once crossing Liam Martin off his list and only just sneaking Stephen Crichton onto another, to picking up the likes of Brian To’o and James Fisher-Harris for spare change, the ageless Panthers scout talks us through how this grand final 17 came to be.

The Panthers production line

1 Dylan Edwards

Signed as a 17-year-old five-eighth from the mid-north coast but found his way to fullback in under-20s. Established himself as the club’s fittest player during his first NRL pre-season by beating backline specimens Dallin Watene-Zelezniak and Waqa Blake in consecutive 400-metre races, before beating the next few runners to step up and challenge him too.

Jones: “You get more tips than a porcupine in this job but Dylan was spotted from some highlights off YouTube. He was working at Gloria Jeans in Nepean as a kid and I’d go in every day. My wife hated the coffee and would get stuck into me: ‘we’re only coming here because you want to talk to Dylan Edwards’. She wasn’t wrong. I’m pretty sure Dylan met his wife working there.”

2 Stephen Crichton